A month of yes

I am bored. Horribly, terribly, unbelievably bored.

It’s crazy how many hours I used to spend drinking, recovering from drinking, and then drinking again. Now that I don’t do that anymore, I have all this time on my hands. The things I used to do – numb out in front of the tv or online – are ok for a time, but quickly bores the piss out of me.

I read an article about Shonda Rhimes (creator of “Grey’s Anatomy”, “Scandal”, and “How to Get Away with Murder”), which talked about her book, “Year of Yes”. The book touches on all sorts of important life lessons, but what got me was one of the interviews she did. In it, she discusses how her sister observed that Rhimes never says yes to anything. Realizing her sister was right, Rhimes embarked on a year of saying yes to everything, and wound up with a treasure trove of experiences as a result.

I’m not brave enough to commit to saying yes to every opportunity that comes my way for a whole year, but I’m going to challenge myself to do it for a month.

I’ll keep track of how things go, and we’ll see what happens!

Leave a Reply

