Colbert’s Congressional Testimony

It’s been a long time since I’ve written anything. My passion is politics with a little social justice thrown into the mix, but lately, those topics have become scary.

I love a good political debate. Lately, however, intelligent political discussions are increasingly replaced by fear mongering on the right, by race baiting on the left… The end result being that I stopped following politics altogether. I must confess, for quite a while, Lindsey Lohan’s most recent drug-induced shenanigans, reported by radaronline and TMZ made for more interesting reading than all my old standby favorites (HuffPo, Politico, CNN, FoxNews) on the political front combined.

So…

…What, exactly, awoke the sleeping giant?

While I make no promises that I am awake for good, I can say that today, at least, I simply found myself with something to say.

I recently had the opportunity to witness the “testimony” of Stephen Colbert as he addressed Congress (the House Judiciary Committe’s subcommittee on immigration) regarding the plight of the migrant worker in America. Mr. Colbert showed up in character, speaking as the ultra-conservative, completely unenlightened political pundit we’ve all come to know from his Comedy Central Show, “The Colbert Report”.

Generally speaking, I am a fan of “The Colbert Report”. I find it absolutely hilarious. For those that are not aware, Stephen Colbert pokes fun at conservatives by pretending to be a conservative, using ridiculous, outrageous arguments to boost popular conservative ideologies. Colbert touches on everything from racism to gun control, from the war to drugs, and even broadcast a show recently from Iraq. Most recently, he has taken on immigration.

Colbert’s message is a good one. He understands that the food supply in this country truly relies on undocumented migrant workers. Immigrants are not stealing American jobs, as many who fear the brown people would have you believe.

In fact, an organization called “Take Our Jobs” demonstrates this fact. Through its website, powered by the United Farm Workers (UFW), the “Take Our Jobs” initiative attempts to get legal, documented U.S. citizens to apply for farm work. From the site one can apply for farm work, and the UFW is definitely hiring currently. The website has received thousands of hits, a few applications from U.S. Citizens, but not a single candidate has accepted the jobs, once offered.

Much like the UFW, I believe drastic action such as immediate deportation, against undocumented workers is counterproductive, and would certainly cause more problems than it would solve. Any American unable to recognize how heavily we rely on undocumented labor is delusional, to say the least.

It is under this premise that Stephen Colbert appeared in front of the Judiciary Committee, alongside Arturo S.  Rodriguez, president, United Farm Workers.

I appreciate and largely agree with the message…

… I have a hard time supporting the method. For Stephen Colbert to show up in character, essentially putting on a comedy routine for Congress, was a bit of a turn off for me. I think the representatives we have in place are largely ineffective, but I have enough respect for the legislative branch of government itself, that I do not find a Comedy Central skit during session appropriate.

You may view Colbert’s testimony here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nMIz73z6Hcg&NR=1

One thought on “Colbert’s Congressional Testimony

  1. A little uncomfortable at the beginning for me. But as he went on I have to say I found it amusing and rather fitting in this sense. While I do like yourself respect the office and duties of congress, if congress wants to be taken seriously they should govern seriously. Factual satire is refreshing compared to most of what I have seen on C-SPAN when I’ve viewed congressional sessions in the past. You just want to go to sleep for godsakes. Where Cobert is concerned, it may be viewed as somewhat distasteful, but would it garner the attention it is now or would they have listened any more seriously if he had been nice and proper about it? I doubt it. What Cobert knows is what we should know. Regardless of how he put it they won’t listen and most Americans will still believe the hype of their own racism. So he may as well needle them a bit for it.

Leave a Reply

