Burger King, Blow Jobs and The Diva

Ok, So I don’t know how funny this Burger King ad really is, but when I saw it, I chuckled.

The chuckle may very well have been more out of embarrassment and less out of any true comedic value, but there you have it, nonetheless.

The controversial advertisement is currently running exclusively in Singapore, which is a little suprising, given that Singapore isn’t actually known for being the sexual freedom capital of the world.

The ad is obviously being used to promote BK’s new sandwich, the BK Super Seven Incher and instructs would-be consumers ot “Fill your desire for something long, juicy and flame-grilled” and “Yearn for more after you taste the mind-blowing burger…”

This, of course, all under a huge tag line that screams, “IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND AWAY” with a profile view of a suggestive looking woman in heavy makeup, mouth open, get ready to blow… err… eat the huge burger.

As I was chuckling, shaking my head at the advertising pervs that came up with this particular campaign, I was reminded of an incident that occured with my daughter a few short weeks ago.

The Diva, as regular readers know, is a pre-teen. She’s 10 years old, soon to be 11 next month.

She is beautiful, extremely tall (already 5’3″), and while it isn’t her fault, looks entirely too old for her age.

My daughter is also becoming aware of sex, and has many questions at the ready… usually asking them at the most unexpected times.

Case in point- I was cooking dinner this particular evening, when my daughter saunters into the room. She had that tone in her voice like she just wanted to engage in small talk with me, perhaps about the weather or some other insignificant topic.

This casual tone always throws me off, and I always fall for it. Make no mistake about it. The weather was the last thing on my child’s mind at that moment.

Instead she floors me with, “Mom? What’s a blow job?”

Huh.

I was so startled by her question- the seemingly randomness of it- and by the fact that such a question was probably the last thing I expected to come out of my 10 year old’s mouth, that I dropped the casserole I had been making.

Yep.

Huge mess, all over the floor.

I explained what the term meant. I stuttered a lot, and blushed even more, but think I eventually provided an honest, though not too detail-oriented description of what oral sex is…

… Even managing to do so without passing out.

I think I’m getting better at this.

This time around, I only threw up a little in my mouth, as opposed to a lot.

I asked her where she’d heard it, and she just sort of shrugged and said, “I’m not really sure. Around, I guess”.

She’d been struggling with trying to figure out what it was, and when unable to, she had come to me.

Thank goodness she did, though I won’t lie and pretend like my first instinct wasn’t to send her to the laptop to google it instead.

That woulda got me off the hook, right?

I was sad that my daughter, at age 10, needs to know what a blow job is.

After looking at this ad, I guess I’m beginning to understand why our babies have become so much more sexually aware than we were at the same age.

Suddenly, the ad isn’t the slightest bit funny anymore.

2 thoughts on “Burger King, Blow Jobs and The Diva

  1. i can only imagine that scene…. hilarious.

    get a load of the expression on the lady’s face in the picture?

    this reminds me of the quizno’s commercials with the deep looking toaster oven says, “put it in me scott.”

    oh and the name of the sandwich? “the torpedo”

    the people at enzyte thinks that quiznos should be more subtle.

Leave a Reply

