Proposition 8, Gay People and God-Sanctioned Orgasms

I wasn’t sure if I should really touch this subject or not…

… But seeing as I’ve never been one to keep my mouth shut, here I am- and I intend to touch the hell out of this thing.

Proposition 8, in California, has passed.

That’s old news of course, but I’m just now getting around to talking about it, so let’s just jump right in.

For those of you who have lived in a cave for the past 8 days, Prop 8 is California’s Gay Marriage ban.

I guess I was a little surprised that the measure succeeded… not because I harbor any silly notions that this country has progressed beyond the point of denying any single group of people their civil rights… but because in my mind, if this thing was going to fail, California’s the state that would be most likely to drop-kick it.

Clearly I was wrong, but I suppose that’s neither here nor there.

What really got me going is how the stupid Proposition passed.

It wouldn’t have been any less a shame had the super-right evangelical Christians managed to pass it on their own… but it certainly would have hurt my heart a lot less.

I mean, it’s expected that those guys would be overzealous in their support of such a shameful piece of crap… merely masking itself as bona-fide legislation.

Let’s face it- the Christian right has no qualms about shoving their religion down the rest of our throats… that whole seperation of Church and State thing only applies to non-Christians in their minds… as in, if you ain’t Christian, don’t you dare even try to legislate shit.

Otherwise, it’s cool.

But folks, it wasn’t simply the Christian-Right that passed the same-sex marriage ban.

It was minorities.

As in blacks and latinos.

Huh.

A group of people, oppressed for generations… still fighting daily for their own civil rights… helped pass a piece of shit law that takes one of the fundamental freedoms that they themselves enjoy away from an entire group of people.

It wasn’t so long ago that black people didn’t have the freedom to choose their marital partners either… have we already forgotten our not-too-distant-past when blacks were banned from marrying whites?

Hell, in Alabama that shit was still illegal into the 21st century!

I am disgusted.

What harm does it do a damn one of us, allowing two people to who love each other- even if they are the same sex- to get married? In what ways do our lives become negatively impacted by two committed adults choosing to celebrate their love and commitment for each other by making that bond official?

None.

The rest of us can do it…

… So why can’t gay people?

I get that this has to do with religion for a lot of people… but to those same people I say, mind your own damn business. If you disagree with the notion of two people of the same sex marrying, then don’t do it… never forget, however, that you are not God… you do not get to judge… and you certainly have no business judging the choices of others.

Besides, why are we picking and choosing which parts of the Bible to subscribe to? How many people have even read the book of Leviticus, the book they base their justification to discriminate against homosexuals on?

I am reminded of a letter I once read… written to conservative talk-show host, Dr. Laura Schlesinger. Dr. Laura had caught some heat for her disparaging comments about homosexuals.

The author brings up many good points:

When I burn a bull on the altar as a sacrifice, I know it creates a pleasing odor for the Lord (Lev. 1:9). The problem is my neighbors. They claim the odor is not pleasing to them. How should I deal with this?

I would like to sell my daughter into slavery, as it suggests in Exodus 21:7. In this day and age, what do you think would be a fair price for her?

I know that I am allowed no contact with a woman while she is in her period of menstrual uncleanliness (Lev. 15:19-24). The problem is, how do I tell? I have tried asking, but most women take offense.

Lev. 25:44 states that I may buy slaves from the nations that are around us. A friend of mine claims that this applies to Mexicans but not Canadians. Can you clarify?

I have a neighbor who insists on working on the Sabbath. Exodus 35:2 clearly states he should be put to death. Am I morally obligated to kill him myself?

A friend of mine feels that even though eating shellfish is an abomination (Lev. 10:10), it is a lesser abomination than homosexuality. I don’t agree. Can you settle this?

Lev. 20:20 states that I may not approach the altar of God if I have a defect in my sight. I have to admit that I wear prescription glasses. Does my vision have to be 20/20, or is there some wiggle room here?

If the supporters of Proposition 8 spent half the energy on making their own marriages successful as they do trying to dictate everyone else’s lifestyles, perhaps our hetrosexual divorce rate would drop a bit.

God, I’m certain, doesn’t give a shit how we manage to achieve an orgasm…

…He has bigger fish to fry, and so do we.

6 thoughts on “Proposition 8, Gay People and God-Sanctioned Orgasms

  1. I struggled for a long time with this one. The turning point came in my Sociology of Aging classes a couple years ago. We were discussing what the differences were in the lives of heterosexual elderly couples and homosexual elderly couples. Truth is, I had never thought about it before. What happens when one partner dies? If you are heterosexual and are married, you get to stay in your house, no one questions your right to your spouses’ belongings, no one says “it was JUST your boyfriend” (of 50 years).

    We forget that many gays have been disowned by thier families, but those families are quick to “inherit” the house that the gay couple lived in for the past 30 years that is already paid off. When end of life decisions must be made, the long-time partner has no say. In fact, many times, the partner is not even allowed to visit thier partner or discuss important medical decisions with hospital employees.

    The long and short of it is this… We hold our separation of church and state dear to our hearts. This is why the marriage certificate comes from the state… it just has to be signed… and the marriage ceremony comes from the church. They are 2 different things.
    I have no problem with churches stating that according to thier faith, marriage is only between opposite sexes. That is thier right. Separation of church and state. Marriage, as defined in the law books, is a legal matter. It entitles spouses to be exempt from testifying against each other in court, it entitles various financial benefits, it entitles spouses to place each other on medical benefits, it entitles spouses to utilize FMLA (Family Medical Leave Act). None of these LEGAL aspects of civil marriage can apply to gay couples …. yet.

    As long as gay couples can respect the rights of the churches to keep thier exclusive-type of marriage, I don’t see why people cannot allow a gay couple to make thier own legal decisions… entering into a legal (NOT RELIGIOUS) marriage that does not have to be performed in a church… The city hall / local park / backyard / liberal-non-exclusive type of faiths will do just fine.

    Separation of church and state, separation of church and state.

  2. Hi Judy-

    Thanks for the well-thought comment.

    I believe that people use religion as an excuse to be judgmental, and as a means to keep people who don’t fit society’s definition of the “norm” from enjoying fundamental rights.

    I don’t believe homosexuals should be bound to respect a church’s definition of marriage any more than I think I should be bound to accepting the church’s view on divorce or pre-marital sex.

    Any organization- be it religious or otherwise- that actively seeks to limit the rights of others is not worth my time or my energy.

    Like I said- God doesn’t give a hoot how we obtain an orgasm.

    Anyone who says different is buying into a man-made system of discrimination.

    I wholeheartedly agree with your views on legal rights for same-sex couples. It’s tragic to think that there are life partners out there who cannot even access the love of their life’s hospital room to say goodbye.

    Hearbreaking.

  3. Chaze77
    Let’s step back and ignore religion as part of marriage for a moment.
    Ask: “Why was the institution of marriage ever invented?”
    Remember that men are stray alley cats and gladly would look for no responsibility for their sexual adventures. So, how to make sure men stick it out? Yes, many do not, but for the most part men take an oath to be a good husband and father. They do this in front of their own community to profess to one and all their commitment to remain with their chosen woman.
    This is what marriage is really about…sticking it out so the man has a lot of incentive to remain and provide an environment where a family can have a chance to prosper.
    Sure, there are many examples of men running out on their wives, terrible situations, but for the most part, they stick it out.
    Over all, the reason for the concept of marriage is that men have more reason to commit and remain faithful.
    NOW, I am not naive enough to think that all men follow this, but as a whole, this system works out.
    Hence, I can’t understand why there needs to be some sort of law to guarantee homosexual marriages.
    Judy, above, mentions inheritance…well, a person can set up a will, before dying, and bequeath thier belongings to anyone they choose (even their cat, as many such cases exist).
    Another issue, and I know this from my own experience-if you are not directly related to someone who is critically ill, some hospitals deny visitation. Sad, but true…so, what to do? Go to a hospital that allows such visits. Petition the board of regents to allow you to visit. What of health insurance? The same, choose a company that allows you set up insurance for you loved on, regardless of their sex.
    What am I getting at? Well, why on earth do we need some sort of law to let people have guarentees that they already have? I don’t get it.
    Uncle

  4. Hi Uncle-

    As always, thanks for weighing in.

    My response, I’m afraid, is gonna be a long one!

    First of all, homosexuals do not have “guarantees” as you mentioned above.

    Your comment, and your thoughts on hospital visitations/death, requires extreme planning in advance, and leaves no room for the unexpected. If a homosexual couple lives to be old, and both die expectedly of natural causes, then your plan works fine.

    But as we all know, it’s the shit we don’t- or can’t- plan for that kicks us most roundly in the ass.

    Why should anyone- any group of people in this country- be made to jump throught the kind of hoops that you describe above- hoops that you do not have to jump through?

    It’s not as if this group of people are choosing not to get married, choosing the long way around the mountain of beneficiaries and tax breaks. They are not legally entitled to the rights you and I have- they don’t have the choices you and I have.

    I am reminded of something that happened during my own marriage. My (now ex) husband, at the ripe old age of 26 became suddenly ill. Literally, he was fine one day, and was in very real danger of dying the next. We didn’t have the opportunity to select a hospital. He was rushed to the closest medical facility because his life was on the line.

    He spent 6 months in and out of that hospital- had 2 emergency surgeries and countless other tests, procedures, etc. As his wife, I was able to visit him… but would not have been allowed to do so were I merely his partner.

    I can’t imagine what that would have been like.

    Your post, while making plenty excuses for the discrimination, doesn’t give a single reason as to why gay people should not enjoy the same fundamental rights that you and I enjoy.

    You gave an interesting history behind the reason marriage came about to begin with… so that men have more reason “to commit and be faithful”…

    Why shouldn’t every single human in this country, provided they are of legal age, have the right to decide they, too, would like “to commit and be faithful”?

    When you made that decision, your choice was recognized and celebrated in front of God, and became legally binding.

    What is your justification for denying an entire group of people that very same option that you so obviously enjoy?

    Is it truly just because you think they can choose a good hospital that will let non-family visit one another? Do you really think it’s a good, solid, fair answer to tell a person whose partner of 50 years has suddenly become ill and is dying, “ahh, well, petition the board of regents” in their grief?

    Is it really because you expect people to choose companies that only offer certain types of benefits- in this economy, no less? Most people don’t have that luxury… they have to work where they can work… unemployment is higher than it’s been in years, companies are laying off, cutting back… if you need to work, you pretty much have to take whatever you can get. Domestic partner benefits, while wonderful, probably by necessity are taking a backseat to “food”, “shelter” to many people.

    If that were simply the long and short of the issue, why then, did you choose to get married? Obviously you could have merely changed your will, chosen employment that offers domestic partner benefits, and petitioned the board of regents too.

    Clearly, you chose to marry, and obviously there was a reason for you to do so.

    Why is it that homosexuals shouldn’t have the option to do what you have decided to do?

    That you would require an entire group of people to go through so much when you, yourself haven’t had to, is selfish.

    California has just legalized discrimination… and has for the first time in the history of the state, legally removed a fundamental right from an entire group of people.

    That other Americans- minorities especially- are celebrating such a leap backwards is disgusting.

  5. You know I dont always agree with what you post, though I love to hear your side of whatever it is your blogging on, but in this case, I am behind you 100% . You and I both know of a girl that happens to like both men and women, she was married to the man of her dreams for many years, but what if that person of her dreams would have been a female, she would have been shit out of luck when she herself had to have life saving surgery and it was her husband who carried the Insurance. I would hate think that her kids would be with out their mother had she fallen in love with a woman instead of her husband. Thanks for posting on this subject.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

