Sarah Palin, Africa and “the Southern Part of the Country”

For those of you who are sad that John McCain/Sarah Palin lost the election, perhaps this report will make you feel a little better about the way things turned out.

It appears that Sarah Palin never knew Africa was a continent.

She thought it was a country, and that when people refer to “South Africa”, they were merely referring to the southern portion of the country of Africa…

… Not realizing that South Africa is a country itself.

Wow.

Unbelievable, I know.

Now before you start hoppin’ up and down, yelling about the liberal mainstream media, let me first explain that the source of this information is none other than Fox News.

In fact, it was Fox News’ own chief political correspondent, Carl Cameron, that gave us this delightful morsel of information to begin with.

She didn’t understand, McCain aides told me, that Africa was a continent and not a country and actually asked them if South Africa wasn’t just part of the country as opposed to a country in the continent…

To think that this woman is actually taken seriously by anyone at all chills me to my core.

Realizing that there is, as we speak, a political machine that is gearing up for this woman’s 2012 presidential bid is even worse.

5 thoughts on “Sarah Palin, Africa and “the Southern Part of the Country”

  1. It’s the “Miss Teen South Carolina Syndrome.” What is even more troubling, I suspect, is that this may be much more wide spread than Sarah Palin. Anyone watching Jay Leno’s “Jaywalking” would know what I mean.

    Questions about American Idol or Desperate Housewives no doubt would get better results.

    I suppose that some blame could be laid at the feet of elementary school teachers for this widespread deficiency but again, they can only teach what they themselves have been taught.

    Time for systemic education review and reform.

  2. Hey sixseven-

    Funny you should mention education.

    I was watching the news (sorry, can’t remember which station) the morning after the election, and the anchors were discussing what Obama’s plans were for the morning.

    I was impressed to hear that his plans for the day included taking his daughters to school.

    Personally, I wasn’t expecting a landslide- definitely wasn’t expecting to hear McCain’s concession speech by 9:30 CST on Tuesday night… I would have allowed my daughters to stay up all night long if need be, to hear Obama’s victory speech… and as a result, I would have allowed them to miss school the next day, had they been too tired to go.

    Turns out it was a moot point in my house- since the election was called so early- but to hear that Obama’s children, of all people, were going to school Wednesday morning really struck me.

    He is a man who doesn’t just talk the talk- he walks the walk. He doesn’t just SAY education is important to him… he lives it… by making his children, the morning after one of the most historic events in this country’s history, go to school.

    Now we’re hearing that trying to schedule Obama’s first press conference as our President elect has been a challenge. Why? Because they have to work around his personal schedule… which includes attending his daughters’ parent/teacher conferences today.

    Another reason to be proud of Barack Obama- the obstacles he’s hurdled- and the integrity of his words.

  3. Chaze-

    Reasons to be proud …indeed! I am not sure that I have “fully” comprehended the total import of the event; I still find myself processing the fact that the POTUS is a brother!

    You, though, have captured the essence of the man. He bears all of the earmarks of a caring, dynamic and resolute father, husband and leader.

    I know it’s the dawn of his presidency and he has much to do but his early decision-making skills portend a very successful presidency.

    I hope I never lose this feeling of pride that has come over me.

  4. ngoldfarb-

    Somehow your comment got marked as spam…

    … I probably should have left if there.

    I’ve seen your site…

    … It’s nonsense.

    Feel free to come back, should you ever actually come across those “facts” you claim to be in possession of.

    Lord knows they’re not anywhere to be found at the link you provided.

Leave a Reply

