GOP, Law and Order, and Straight Up Panic

So I know every last one of us are watching the dog and pony show Republican National Convention each and every night with bated breath…

Right?

Of course we are.

So last night (Tuesday), we heard from a whole buncha folks, including our own esteemed Prez Bush (via satellite- he wasn’t coming anywhere near this thing was monitoring the Hurricane Gustav situation from the White House).

My favorite speaker of the night was Fred Thompson (no, no, not Lieberman… he’s not Christian).

Did I like what Thompson had to say?

Well, you know…

Like is such a strong word…

… But I tell you what, I won’t view those Law and Order reruns on TNT the same way ever again!

What really struck me about his speech were his comments about how he believes Sara Palin was a great choice for veep, and that liberals are in a panic over McCain’s choice.

I laughed.

Oh wait- he was being serious?

I’m sorry… I thought he was being funny…

I love how the GOP is talkin’ out of both sides of their mouths right about now…

Cuz it was just today, actually, that two Republican pundits- Peggy Noonan and Mike Murphy- were caught on tape ‘disparaging’ Mrs. Palin.

“It’s over,” Noonan said.

When Chuck Todd asked her if this was the most qualified woman the Republicans could nominate, Noonan responded, “The most qualified? No. I think they went for this, excuse me, political bullshit about narratives. Every time the Republicans do that, because that’s not where they live and that’s not what they’re good at, they blow it.”

Murphy characterized the choices as “cynical” and “gimmicky.”

Seems like perhaps good ol’ Fred Thompson got it backwords, eh?

Personally, I’m not panicking in the slightest…

Looks like the GOP’s all over that particular market.

Leave a Reply

