Cluster-F*cks, War, McCain and The Today Show

Every day I find myself more and more surprised that Senator John McCain is actually considered a viable candidate for president.

I have to wonder if Ashton Kucher is behind all this nonsense, and we’re really all just getting Punk’d.

Really, how the heck does anyone take this guy seriously?

Most recently, good ol’ McCain was makin’ the rounds, appearing on the Today Show.

As one would expect, the topic of conversation quickly turned to Iraq, and our “occupation” over there (I prefer the term cluster-fuck, but I’m trying to be nice).

He was asked if he knew when we would start bringing our troops home…

His response?

“…That’s not too important…”

 Wow. It’s not?

Shit.

McCain went on to clarify- he actually feels that the casualties we’re incurring over there are more important than bringing our troops home.

Huh.

Now I’m no war expert or anything… but… um… wouldn’t the casualties, oh, I don’t know… end altogether… if we brought the troops home?

Just sayin’.

So what- this guy’s plan is to keep our troops over there until there are no more casualties and then bring ’em home?

Yea. Cuz that makes all kinds of sense.

If we weren’t talking about people dying, this would almost be humorous… almost.

I love how those of us who are against this war are constantly being accused of not supporting our troops… and yet the guy those great “troop supporters” want to elect doesn’t even want to bring them home.

In the words of the Great Alanis Morissette… Isn’t it ironic?

4 thoughts on “Cluster-F*cks, War, McCain and The Today Show

  1. I am actually wondering the opposite? If our country wants to turn itself over to the most inexperienced candidate/ “community organizer” ever

  2. Well, by all means, if you don’t think it’s “too important” right now to bring our troops home, then vote McCain. Personally, I’d take my chances with Santa Claus before I’d vote for him.

    I love hearing from folks with opposing views, by the way, so definitely, thanks for the comment and feel free to keep ’em coming!

  3. Chaze77
    ref Iraq… having been there and working around many many people – including USAID people who have, I can’t see how we have occuppied that nation. I will say we liberated it. The Criminal elements and many power hungry people have been killing their fellow man there. Very sad, indeed, but this is what happened. My personal interactions with people in the region convinced me that we did the right thing. Little bits of evidence such as locals saying: We are glad you Americans are here or THank you America..let me know this alll
    I just thought i would share this with you

  4. Hey there Unc…
    All comments are welcome here, of course! I appreciate you sharing your firsthand experience. It’s unfortunate that not everyone had the experience in Iraq that you obviously did.

Leave a Reply

