How To Rent A Negro

Oh my goodness! I have found the answer to racial disparity… Really! 

Of course, I had always hoped I’d be the one to bridge the ever-widening racial gap in this country, but it seems I have been beaten to the punch.

Sigh.

Oh well. I’m not bitter… I couldn’t possibly be. Not after what I’ve just discovered! Best I can do is give credit where credit is due.

I know- enough with the rambling and just get on with it already…

Onward…

I was roamin’ the ‘net as I’m prone to do and came across this website

I’ll give you a sec to click on it and see what it really is, as sometimes pure genius takes a moment to sink in.

Back yet?

Ok- as you know by now, what you were just looking at is a website that sells a book entitled “How-To Rent a Negro”. The title’s somewhat self-explanatory, and the site features tons of testimonials from lots of white folks who now understand black people! They simply bought the book, followed the instructions, rented a negro and… yes… were awakened to a new understanding of black people. 

I wonder if I am the only person who had never heard of this book, or the woman who wrote it. I know it’s been around a couple of years… and I was surprised I’d never come across it before… so even if this isn’t new to everyone else, it is definitely new to me!

I’m so excited! 

This is one of the coolest things I’ve seen in a long time. On the website itself (go ahead and click again, if you’d like- I’ll still be here when you get back), on the lower right-hand corner of the page, there’s a link that says Who Made This?. If you click on it you will be taken to the website of my new hero, a woman named Damali Ayo.

She’s the one who wrote the book. Make sure you learn all you can about her, and what she believes, and what her life-purpose is. This lady is somethin’ else.

Ms. Ayo is clearly African-American. She has dedicated her life to spreading the word about diversity, racism and cultural differences… and I don’t know about y’all, but she certainly got my attention! She’s all about opening our minds, and I can’t do anything but salute her for that. 

This is sarcasm and satire at its finest… definitely how it was meant to be utilized, in my humble opinion.

I am full of respect for any person who manages to help change the world and educate others… she’s doin’ it one laugh, one blush, one uncomfortable squirm, one embarrassed clearing-of-the-throat at a time.

 

Ahh…

 

*leaning back in my chair, sighing happily*

 

This, my friends, is how it was meant to be.

 

4 thoughts on “How To Rent A Negro

  1. I’ve never heard of this book or this woman either. I’m not sure that renting a negro is the best answer. Isn’t that a little like renting a friend? If you have to do it, you’ve already lost the point? But if it works, more power to them.

  2. LOL… I don’t think anyone is actually renting any negroes… it was more of a marketing scheme (a brilliant one!!) to grab some attention, and put the spotlight on a serious issue. It gave me a good laugh, for sure!

    Thanks for weighing in, and I hope you continue to stop by!

  3. Oh well, can’t please ’em all, right? I found this funny enough for the both of us, so it’s all good (I had to watch Napolean Dynamite a few times before I caught the humor myself, so no worries)!

    Extremism of any type concerns me… unfortunately radicals can be found everywhere- worldwide, every race, and every political affiliation claims at least a few of them. We can all name instances where people from all over the spectrum have acted out their frustrations, unfortunately taking the path of violence. Sad, indeed.

    Moving on…

    VOTE FOR PEDRO!!

Leave a Reply

